miniheader stella curriculum


Home | Curriculum and Pedagogy | Learning and Teaching

Learning and Teaching

Stella Maris Catholic school is a systemic school under the direction of the Catholic Education Office, Wollongong. 

In NSW, the Board of Studies, Teaching and Educational Standards (BOSTES) provides schools with syllabus documents and all primary schools are required to teach subjects from six Key Learning Areas.  These are:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science and Technology
  • Human Society and its Environment
  • Creative Arts

As a Catholic school we also teach Religious Education which follows a set syllabus provided by the Catholic Education Office.

At Stella Maris the teachers develop programs based on the Foundation Statements and Syllabus Outcomes.  Foundation Statements are a description of the learning the students will be engaged in at each stage of primary school.

Since 2014 schools across Australia are expected to be implementing the new Australian Curriculum.

The Australian Curriculum is developed by ACARA (Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority).  The learning areas which will be implemented in the first phase are English, Mathematics, Science and History/Geography.

The Primary Curriculum is organized into stages:

Early Stage 1 Kindergarten
Stage 1 Year 1 and Year 2
Stage 2 Year 3 and Year 4
Stage 3 Year 5 and Year 6

Most students will be working towards outcomes for their stage.  Some students will be working towards outcomes that are above or below their stage.


square learningandteaching